Shifting

Over the last year, I have realized something: God has not called me to youth ministry. For the last ten years or so, that is what I thought. I thought that youth ministry was my calling. The only thing that I could do, and if I tried to do something else God wouldn’t let me do it.

Call it a quarter-life crisis if you will, but over the last month or so I have had to wrestle with some serious questions. Without going in to tons of detail. I believe I have come out of the other side of this with a few thoughts.

First of all, I am not called to youth ministry, God is calling me to Himself. It’s not about what I do, but who I am as a Christ Follower and a Child of God. This pretty simple, but I am coming to understand what this actually looks like.

Second, I am going to stay put. I love my job, and we are seeing some amazing things happening in the lives of the young people we are working with. I have a team to lead, vision to cast, and experiments to test. My role is shifting, and I am excited about it.

Third, There has been a lot of talk lately about the shifts happening in youth ministry. These are things that I am well aware of, and I am excited to be part of them in my corner of the youth ministry world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

